The 14th annual Music Producer’s Guild Awards (MPG’s) took place in London on Thursday 9th June, recognising some of the people behind our fantastic music industry.

Flare was once again proud to be sponsoring the prestigious Producer of The Year category, being contested by last year’s winner Inflo (Adele, Little Simz), veteran producer Dave Eringa (Manic Street Preachers) and 2020 Breakthrough Producer of the Year winner, Marta Salogni (Dreamwife, Anna Meredith).

...and the winner was Marta Salogni!

2022 saw the return of the Unsung Hero Award, the only category open to anyone in the industry, which sees nominations for #BrokenRecord campaigner Tom GrayCharlatans frontman Tim Burgess, for his #TimsTwitterListening Parties that boosted artists and entertained us all during the lockdown, and veteran string arranger and composer, Sally Herbert, who has worked across genres from Florence and the Machine, Mumford and Sons to Elvis and the RPO. (Click here for Flare’s exclusive earphone collab with Tim Burgess, helping to support UK music venues).

...and the winner was the fantastic Tom Gray. Toms #BrokenRecordCampaign calls for better streaming revenues for artists. Read more about the campaign here.

Mix Engineer of the year was awarded to Manon Grandjean who has previously won Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year in 2018.

This year will also saw two new categories, Vocal Producer of the Year & Rising Star.

...and the winners were:

Rising Star: Matt Taylor who said on receiving the award: 

This month marks exactly 10 years since I left the care system, so to be recognised in this way by my industry is surreal, and an honour. This is a brutal industry for a careleaver, where having no family or financial support makes it nearly impossible. I hope that my success will now begin to shift the tides so more people like me can survive and thrive in recording. I may be the first care leaver to win an MPG Award, but I’m gonna make sure I’m not the last!”

Vocal Producer Of The Year: Lorna Blackwoood 

Lornas award was presented by Ellie Goulding for her work with Dua Lipa, & Calum Scott 

The MPG Award for outstanding contribution to music was presented to singer-songwriter, guitarist and producer, Joan Armatrading. During an interview with BBC Radio 4’s Women’s Hour, the three-time Grammy Award nominee said, It was “absolutely fantastic” and a “big compliment” to receive the award. 

Team Flare was busy at the Awards, gathering info from the hottest producers and engineers to find out what names and tracks to look out for. We’ll compile a Hot List for our Friends of Flare in coming weeks.

“The MPG Awards celebrate the best and brightest talent in music production, along with the industry’s rising stars. Previous award winners have included Paul Epworth (Adele), Nile Rodgers, FKA Twigs, Catherine Marks (Foals, Alanis Morissette) and Dr Susan Rodgers (Prince),” cite MPG organisers.

So - Whilst you're waiting for our Hot List to be complied, why not check out the Album of the Year category nominees for some new music inspiration!

Arlo Parks: ‘Collapsed in Sunbeams’

*WINNER* Little Simz: ‘Sometimes I Might Be Introvert’  

Wolf Alice: ‘Blue Weekend’

Twitter @ukMPG
Instagram @musicproducersguild
Facebook musicproducersguild
To see all the winners head to: MPG Awards Website